Options

I am at a crossroads...

and need your advice badly. It will help me to make the right decision.

I am about to take my last exam which will make me a MCSE. So I will get to a point where I should start working and apply the knowledge I gained doing Microsoft certs. Now I could get an entry level position as a Help Desk Support and learn stuff and be paid. Or I could (and that would be going the easier way) get some work experience form a company that provieds me the IT courses I have been doing for the last 8 months. The company would not pay me but I could learn in an familiar and friendly environment for two months and then I could be given an opportunity to progress as a teaching assistant potentially.

What would you do if yo were me? Should I get a paid job and learn everything with the pressure that I am getting money so there must not be any room for making mistakes? Or maybe I am wrong and it's just natural that despite being paid no one expects me to do everything perfect form the very beginning?

Logical would be for me to start with the company, I mentioned (the IT training provider), I could end up as a teaching assistant as my aim is to become an MCT in the future. It is such a shame they do not pay though...

Please tell me what you reckon?

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    What would your actual responsibilities for the unpaid position be?

No one's perfect, and I don't think they will expect you to be. If you're competent and know how to find answers to the things you don't know, you'll be fine.

On the other hand, if your goal is to become an MCT, you may wish to start with the unpaid position. However, I think the best trainers have a decent amount of real-world experience. I think you'd be a much more credible instructor if you actually spent some time working with the technologies out in the real world.
  • Options
    zen masterzen master Member Posts: 222