What is the difference between MCSE and MCSA?

thangkeristhangkeris Member Posts: 1 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi
I am a new member in this forum. I have little knowledge about networking but I want to do certification in network. can u guys help me in this matter? I will be very thankful to you if you help me in this matter.
Syed Mustafa
IT Trainer / IT Assistant
BMC, LRC Quetta

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    You should have posted in one of the general MS forums.

Basically, the MCSA requires four exams, and the MCSE requires seven. The MCSE is much more recognized and prestigious. If you plan on going through the Server 2003 track, you should definitely set your sights on the MCSE.

I'm not sure what you need to know. Post up some specific questions, and we'll help you out.

Be sure to familiarize yourself with this information as well:
    http://www.microsoft.com/learning/mcp/mcsa/windows2003/default.mspx

http://www.microsoft.com/learning/mcp/mcse/windows2003/default.mspx
  • nelnel Member Posts: 2,859 ■□□□□□□□□□
    One is aimed at System administration (MCSA) and the additional exams to gain the mCSE are focused towards design / implemenation / security. You gain your mcsa whilst you go for the MCSE.

Like dynamik said the MCSE is much more recognised than the mcsa. I'll get round to finishing it someday but i doubt that day will come very soon icon_wink.gif

Once you have either mcsa or mcse there are upgrade paths to the next generation of windows. i think it takes around 3 exams to get your mcitp EA (new mcse) but i maybe wrong. but its somewhere around that figure.
    Xbox Live: Bring It On

Bsc (hons) Network Computing - 1st Class
    WIP: Msc advanced networking
    nel wrote:
    i think it takes around 3 exams to get your mcitp EA (new mcse) but i maybe wrong. but its somewhere around that figure.

That's correct. You need the Server 2008 upgrade exam, a Vista exam, and the pro-level Enterprise Administrator exam.