Options

Need Job Advice

BennyLavaBennyLava Member Posts: 60 ■■□□□□□□□□
I've been reading these forums for a while but I don't post a whole lot. I just started my first IT-related job yesterday, and so far I don't like it and could use some advice on what I should do at this point.

I graduated with a Bachelor's degree in computer networking a few months ago and also completed my CCNP around the same time (Yes I realize I probably should have found an entry level job before then). I've been looking for a job since then and had several promising interviews, but only one job offer which I accepted and began working at yesterday. The company is a fairly large company with several network engineers and is also a Cisco business partner. I was hired as a subcontractor, which they said is typically how they hire people initially until they have an opening for a normal employee. At the job interviews, I was told that I would be involved in a variety of things, from setting up servers to working on cisco equipment. I was also told that I would be working at a client site who had contracted this company for 20 hours of work per week, but that they could find other stuff for me to do that would keep me busy for 30 to 40 hours a week total. The pay is only $10 an hour, but I figured for a chance to work with Cisco equipment and be hired as an engineer later on down the road, it would be well worth it.