Options

Cisco before CompTIA

Knowledge82Knowledge82 Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
Will it be any good for me if I take Cisco classes before I even get an A+ or Network+.
And I have no experience, or would it be better to get an A+ Network+ then CCNA
I'm thinking about going to Tesst College for a CompTIA & MSCE course, it costs $ 2390
thats alot of money and I hear alot of ppl say that with an A+ or Network+ cert you'll only be making $8 - 15 an hour. What should I do because I do wanna get into Cisco eventtually, Should I go Straight for an Cisco Cert or get my A+ first

Comments

• Options
    PC509PC509 Member Posts: 804 ■■■■■■□□□□
    You certainly want to go for the CompTIA A+ and Net+ first if you have no experience. A CCNA with zero experience doesn't look too well on a resume. The 8-15 an hour are the dues you pay to get into the field. Start at the bottom and work up. After you have some experience, go for the CCNA and it will look a lot better!
  • Options
    TalicTalic Member Posts: 423
    Go for A+ and Network+ first, if you tried to go for CCNA you'll be lost in the first couple of pages of the CCNA book if you don't have the knowledge those certs introduce to you. I'm not a big fan of the questions that Comptia use on their tests but I would at least read the material in Network+ and not bother with taking the test if your tight on cash. A+ is worth taking the test since it helps you with getting a entry level job.
  • Options
    mamonomamono Member Posts: 776 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Agreed, complete CompTIA A+ and Net+ first. Everything requires building that foundation toward higher level understanding of computers. You've got to start somewhere and CompTIA is a great starting point. After completing those, you can always branch off to Cisco.

A+ -> Net+ -> CCENT -> CCNA

That's a good starting point, IMHO.

Here are others to consider that make great choices after CCNA:
    CompTIA Security+
    CompTIA Server+
    CWNP CWNA
    CWNP CWSP