Options

VTP question

creamy_stewcreamy_stew Member Posts: 406 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hello all!

I've been studying now for a couple of months to get my CCNA. I took the CCNA in 2001, but since I let it lapse, I figured it was time to get back on the horse.

First of all, just let me ask: Is it just me or does the CCNA cover a whole lot more material now? I seems it covers a lot of what used to be on the Switching exam which I studied for but never took.

Anyway, I came across this question (or something similar)

*What is the purpose of the command "vtp password mypassword"

The problem is, I think there are two feasibly correct answers:
1. It is used to validate the sources of VTP advertisements
2. It is used to prevent a newly added switch from sending unwanted vlan configuration information to other switches in the vtp domain

Thoughts:
I'm a bit unclear as to what exactly "validate the sources" in (1) means, but setting a vtp password should certainly provide some sort of validation.

If you add a switch with the same vtp domain as other switches in your network and that switch has a higher VTP revision than other switches in the network, the only thing that prevents it from propagating its unwanted vlan info is if you set a vtp password.

Since the question mentions "other switches in the vtp domain", I went with answer (2). However, the guy who wrote the test claims the answer is (1)

Any thoughts
Itchy... Tasty!
[X] DCICN
[X] IINS

[ ] CCDA
[ ] DCICT

Comments

• Options
    cisco_troopercisco_trooper Member Posts: 1,441 ■■■■□□□□□□
    The problem is, I think there are two feasibly correct answers:
    1. It is used to validate the sources of VTP advertisements
    2. It is used to prevent a newly added switch from sending unwanted vlan configuration information to other switches in the vtp domain

I think option 1 includes/implies option 2.
  • Options
    JavonRJavonR Member Posts: 245
    I would say #2 would be the best answer on a test.