Equipment Question

jsolarijsolari Member Posts: 35 ■■□□□□□□□□
All,

I have been looking through some of the Home Lab Equipment here. My situation is that I am studying for the CCNA, and then doing a few of the CCNA focuses (Security/ Voice). These will be done over the next few months and then I will move on the professional certs (CCNP, CCVP, CCSP) I have ample time to study and a load of experience. I do not know which professional cert i will go into, more or less up to work.

I am trying to design a lab that will allow me to study for the CCNA stuff now, and add to later to get to the CCNSP Stuff. I would like the stuff to be IOS 12.4. Can anyone recommend a good lab that I can build upon?

Thanks...I know people ask this question a lot, I felt mine was a little differant...

Comments

• jsolarijsolari Member Posts: 35 ■■□□□□□□□□
  • tierstentiersten Member Posts: 4,505
    Try to get 2950 switches at a minimum instead of a 1900 or 2900XL.

The picture in that auction has a totally different set of hardware than what is listed in the auction itself. It also has "Dual NM-Slot" for the 2610 which isn't correct.

If you want to run 12.4 at a minimum then you'll need 8xx, 17xx, 26xxXM, 2651 or 36xx. The old 2600 has 12.3 as the last supported version. You can wedge 12.4 in but its a bit unreliable due to lack of RAM.

A few more DTE-DCE DB60 cables would be useful as well. That auction only gives you 1.

You should be able to get a better deal if you just look around on eBay for the individual components yourself.
  • mklaromklaro Member Posts: 27 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I agree I would go with a 2950 if you can. Its def. worth it esp. if you are going to be going for the professional level exams.. you will gte a lot of sgood use out of it.
  • mattrgeemattrgee Member Posts: 201
    Do yourself a favor and download GNS3.