Options

Java - Argh, help!!

nelnel Member Posts: 2,859 ■□□□□□□□□□
Well today i found the news what i've been dreading...ive got a piece of java coursework to do for a NETWORKING degree!!! wtf, stupid academics make no sense sometimes.

Anyway i was wondering if any programmers had any good links for complete newbies (yes ive not touched java in my life and dont intend to do so anymore) to analyse the code, what it does and how to describe it using some kind of programming diagrams which describe what the heck its doing (sorry dont know the correct name for em!). i also have to add new features to it but have really got no clue on how to do so!!

I really have no idea how they figured java should be included in a networking degree but it makes up around a third of the total mark so i better get cracking icon_eek.gif

Thanks for the help.
Xbox Live: Bring It On

Bsc (hons) Network Computing - 1st Class
WIP: Msc advanced networking

Comments

• Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,039 Admin
    I'm a C# guy who will be starting to learn Java programming as soon as I can pass the CISSP exam and get on with my life. I highly recommend that you have a look at www.javaranch.com for tips for beginners. The O'Reilly book Head First Java is very good too. And you can't beat www.krugle.com and www.google.com/codesearch for locating sample Java code to, uh, "learn from" for your projects. And there might be some more good information in the posts in our Java certs forum: http://www.techexams.net/forums/viewforum.php?f=67

Oh yeah, use the free Eclipse Java IDE for writing your apps. All the tools and libraries you will need are freely available.
  • Options
    tierstentiersten Member Posts: 4,505
    They never gave you a crash course in Java? If they assume that you knew it then wouldn't it have been listed on the course material before you signed up? Do you have any programming experience?