Options

2007 update?

antivirus6613antivirus6613 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
I started studying for the A+ essentials and IT tech exams 1.5 years ago, but slowly my motivation diminished. Now I want to get certified. I read through all 1500 pages of my A+ 2006 in depth exam guide by Jean Andrews and have most of the stuff down.

I went to schedule my exam with prometric and vue and they both ask me to make a login, which I am a little hesitant to do because I don't know which one testing company to pick, and when would be the earliest I could take it. I am in MI.

Also my biggest concern is that the book is written for the 2006 exam and I have read that they updated it to 2007. What are the primary differences?

Comments

• Options
    PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    1. Pick either Prometric or Vue. Doesn't matter, they merely proctor the exam and provide a safe, neutral exam enviroment. YMMV in your area as to which is better, but overall they should be equal.

2. The objectives are current as of 2006, you need to pick the Essentials and one of the three elective choices (doesn't particularly matter, though most pick the one most applicable to the work they do)

3. I don't particularly like the Andrews book, but others have used it. Meyers and Sybex are the two most recommended and they have a proven track record for content and accuracy, though regardless of the book you select (and it is recommend you use at least 2 sources), your experience and understanding of the objectives is what matters most.
    Plantwiz
    _____
    "Grammar and spelling aren't everything, but this is a forum, not a chat room. You have plenty of time to spell out the word "you", and look just a little bit smarter." by Phaideaux

***I'll add you can Capitalize the word 'I' to show a little respect for yourself too.

'i' before 'e' except after 'c'.... weird?
  • Options
    Thanks. I have the Cliff notes test book with 9 practice tests so in conjunction hopefully I will do fine.