Options

Moral Dilemma

AberdeenAngusAberdeenAngus Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
I've been working with a company for over 2 years and support about 1700 end users.

There are two desktop support technicians, myself and another who is a contractor.

Up until recently, we had separate offices and went about our daily work, we sometimes work together, sometimes separately, depend what needs doing.

We have since shared the same office - the last few months has been an eye-opener for me.

My colleague spends much of the day on youtube, dating sites, computer based traing etc., when there is work to do and the workload is not shared. I get lots of e-mail with work requests but because they are not on "his" list he considers them low priority.

I have a dilemma, would you:

1) have a word in his ear-hole with regards sharing workload.

2) Do Nothing

3) have a word with my line manager

4) have a word with the contractor's manager

I've ruled out Options 2 and 4 in my mind, so far.

Comments

• Options
    gorebrushgorebrush Member Posts: 2,743 ■■■■■■■□□□
    3) = win

Can he just fire the contractor ;)
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    I'd speak with him directly. If that doesn't work then go to management.

The last thing you want is to get yourself in trouble because the work is not getting done.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    skrpuneskrpune Member Posts: 1,409
    I agree, try talking with the tech first...and if you get nowhere, then move on to talking to your manager. But if you don't feel like you will be well received when you talk to the contractor, or if you're uncomfortable, then go right to talking to your manager. Technically, unless you're in some sort of management role, it's not up to you to address personnel issues (which is what I think this would fall under) so there's nothing wrong with going to your manager first if you want to go that route.