Not quiet....

...Failed the 70-291 with a score of 583 last Monday. I felt little frustrated since I studied my butt of trying all of the practice and labs in the MS Press book. I had 47 questions, only 2 TCP/IP Subnetting questions (which i didnt mind since place too much emphasis on that section) but there was alot on DNS. I thought I knew DNS but not until I saw the situations the test threw at me. Unfortuantly at work I am a mere desktop technician so I dont have any real world expereince with anything server unless its my own practice at home. Another thing that I noticed was that the questions were waayy too long to do.

There are three questions I have to though that I cant find any good answers for online...

What are DNS Root servers and what do they do exactly?
What is the point of Stub Zones and their purpose?
Since when is "Conditional Forwarding" a type of zone to implement on a DNS server?
In Progress: CCNP ROUTE

Comments

• DanielHughesDanielHughes Member Posts: 54 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Bad luck Will. Keep trying and I am sure you will get there.
    I am currently studying for the 291 as well; I know it wont help you but I will spend a bit more time on DNS.
  • dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    What are DNS Root servers and what do they do exactly?

They're used for recursion: http://www.windowsnetworking.com/articles_tutorials/Understanding-DNS-Recursion.html

Also, you can make your own DNS server a root server (.) if you do not want this to take place or if you want to be very selective about the domains that can be resolved.
    What is the point of Stub Zones and their purpose?