Options

SYNchronizing files

Hello Members,

The problem I have is I am studying for MCP, I have two laptops
Both laptops have the same file called, Permissions, Offline files,
and Network Protocols. These files are on both laptops and I make
notes in them on "both laptops" One laptop is in the livingroom, one
in the bedroom.

The problem is When I use the laptop in the bedroom, some of the notes I add to "permissions" "offline files" etc. are different from those in livingroom, and vice versa. So I am adding information in two locations, but the files in both locations are starting to have "different notes" in them" I want to BLEND THEM TOGETHER. I guess the word is synchronic or append of something. I do not know how to do it. I do not have a network connection.

Can someone please show me "step by step" how I can easily blend both sets of notes into 1 file, which includes all of the changes in "both sets of notes",
Ideally when I am making changes to the file in the bedroom or livingroom, I'd like to add those changes IMMEDIATELY TO THE OTHER LOCATION, how WOULD i SEND the changes to the file in the other location without overwriting the entire file, I just want to add the "changes". Thankyou. Rich

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    How would you have that done immediately if you don't have a network connection?

Why don't you just store your notes on a flash drive and carry it with you from machine to machine? I regularly work on 3-4 different machines, and that's what I do. I keep everything in a TrueCrypt archive and regularly back that up in case I lose it.
  • Options
    skrpuneskrpune Member Posts: 1,409
    What program are you using for your notes?? I found this article about using Word 2007 to compare documents, and there's a link in the comments there about using a 3rd party tool to do comparisons.