Options

Question on Redistribution - BSCI

Liberty RebellionLiberty Rebellion Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
I'm studying for the BSCI exam using the Cisco Press Official Exam Certification Guide. This book really irks me sometimes because they don't proof read anything they put in the Cisco Press books apparently as I experienced the same problems with the CCNA books.

here are my questions in regards to redistribution:

Do you have to have the routing protocol that you wish to redistribute running on the router along with the protocol into which the redistribution is occuring?

The book says:

"Routing protocols can only redistribute routes they know. Thus, if RIP is being redistributed into EIGRP, the routing table must have an entry for the RIP network"

Does that mean that if there's an entry in the routing table for the RIP network via Connected that it can redistribute, or does EIGRP have to know about it?

Doesn't that also mean that a router won't accept any other network advertisement from RIP other than the network directly connected since there is no other way to know about any other networks RIP is advertising for

Redistribution is the only section I'm having confusion with and, I think, it's mostly due to the way the book was written.

Thanks in advance! icon_lol.gif
LR

Comments

• Options
    keenonkeenon Member Posts: 1,922 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I'm studying for the BSCI exam using the Cisco Press Official Exam Certification Guide. This book really irks me sometimes because they don't proof read anything they put in the Cisco Press books apparently as I experienced the same problems with the CCNA books.

here are my questions in regards to redistribution:

Do you have to have the routing protocol that you wish to redistribute running on the router along with the protocol into which the redistribution is occuring?

The book says: