Do I really need cisco cert??

tikotikotikotiko Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi there:

I'm actually in my third year electrical engineering ( Telecommunication option ) .I learned about cisco cert and I'm really thinking to start preparing for CCNA and may be (CCNP or even CCIE I konw it will take probably years but I'm not in rush ),do you guys think this will help me to get a good job after graduation or should I take some others certification. I also would like to know how to prepare for it and how long it might take to finish one certificate.any help from you would be much appreciated.

BTW: I'm 32 years old married with kids.

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Do you need a Cisco cert? No, but it will help if that is the direction you want to go with your career. If you do not plan on working in a related environment then it won't do you any good.

As far as how long it will take depends on your prior knowledge and how much time you put into studying. Obviously it will take someone starting from scratch longer then someone with a background in Cisco technologies.

Good luck in what ever path you choose!
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • tikotikotikotiko Member Posts: 2 ■□□□□□□□□□
    As for me I will be starting from scratch..(I have no knowledge about cisco equipments ) , and as I said before I'm willing to spend few years doing that....I will really be happy to finish a CCNA before my graduation ( summer 2010 ) and include that on my CV.....do you think it can take more than that knowing that I'm a full time student ( with family )....another thing is CCNA considered a big asset when looking for a job ( for new graduate )...thank you.
  • 2727 Member Posts: 30 ■■□□□□□□□□
    I studied Electronic, Telecommunications and Computer Engineering in the UK.
    I've just passed the CCENT and am currently preparing for the CCNA exam.