Will IBM's push for MS free servers affect their dominence?

Devin McCloudDevin McCloud Member Posts: 133
This is the second time this week that this Google story surfaced. I have no experience with linux other then playing with Backtrack 3 for security purposes, but I would like to here from those that do. Do you think it will affect Microsoft strong hold with a weak economy and business's struggling to make ends meet. IBM claim's:
IBM claims the system can save businesses $500 to $800 per user on Microsoft software licenses and an additional $258 per user "since there is no need to upgrade hardware to support Windows Vista and Office."

Big Blue also claims the system's virtual setup affords savings of $60 to $118 per user on power and air conditioning costs, and that it will also help companies reduce IT support expenses. "For this virtual system, all administrative intervention is done on consolidated virtual machines in the data center through deployment of standard images," IBM said.

Will IBM's ploy really get attention? Personally, I think the economy is going stop business's from upgrading to windows 2008 more then rolling over to linux.

http://www.informationweek.com/news/software/open_source/showArticle.jhtml?articleID=212202109&cid=iwhome_art_Open+_mostpop
The man who trades freedom for security does not deserve nor will he ever receive either.

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    I like Linux, but it tends to cost more to support/maintain, at least at a desktop level, than Windows. These types of calculations tend to omit that and just look at the up-front costs. I'm not sure if I understand your last point perfectly, but Linux doesn't come close to matching the features that Server 2008 does.
  • Devin McCloudDevin McCloud Member Posts: 133