Options

VLAN over WAN Question

genXrcistgenXrcist Member Posts: 531
Hello everyone,

Working on my CCNA certification and I'm currently on the VLAN section. I've pretty well got the commands down and have setup a number of VLAN's to work w/VTP but I haven't got this part figured out.

Is it possible to communicate VLAN's accross a WAN? I think I am missing something key here because the big advantgage to VLAN's is geography is not important. So, I put a member of one of my VLAN's accross a WAN connection (Router2-> WAN-> Router3->Switch4-> HostVLAN3) but it cannot ping any pc in it's own VLAN accross the WAN. All of my VLANs Gateway's are assigned to Router3 sub-interface Fa0/0.1, .2 & .3 respectively so my thought is all traffic is being routed back to the switch it came from, Switch 4.

How do I get this traffic to cross the WAN from Router 3 back into Router 2?

I hope this makes sense, as I said I'm still learning. :) Thanks all!

***Please note that this is all being done via Sybex Virtual Lab Titanium ed
1) CCNP Goal: by August 2012

Comments

• Options
    JavonRJavonR Member Posts: 245
    I am 99% sure that what you are describing is not possible. Vlans = local, they also need to be carried across trunk links, which belong to all vlans. You cannot have a trunk link between routers, you can only specify encapsulations.
  • Options
    Gotcha. To clarify though, is it then not possible to have say, VLAN 10 name AMERICA with users belonging to this same VLAN 10 in Florida and New York?

I guess I thought that VLAN's allowed people to be in two totally different geographical regions able to communicate as if they were in the next office, via the Network. Is this incorrect?
  • Options
    genXrcist wrote:
    Gotcha. To clarify though, is it then not possible to have say, VLAN 10 name AMERICA with users belonging to this same VLAN 10 in Florida and New York?