Options

Studying time for 70-270

grunjhedgrunjhed Member Posts: 23 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi everyone, firstly a very quick intro. I work at a software company but am in the support side, supporting server 2k3 servers and all our customized software. Been in IT for what must be going on 8 years now and have an A+ and N+, so I know my way around a server/network pretty well. I am busy studying 70-270 as a first module towards my MCSE 2003.

Now, my question, I see people going on about how they are doing a module in like anywhere from 2 weeks to 6 weeks. Now I have been studying JUST the MS books for a good 2 months now and am only halfway through. I am running a Virtual PC lab so always have the machines right in front of me for proof-of-concept. How the h*ll are people doing this so fast and still be thorough?? How many hours a day do you dedicate to studies? Are you working 9 - 5 jobs as well??

It just amazes me how people can wizz through the stuff when I have experience of the content and the just the sheer volume and complexity the books go into surely must allow for at least 3 months worth of studying and 'labbing'? Or am I being too overcautious and giving the exams way too much respect? Not that that is a bad thing!! :)

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    2-3 months per exam is a reasonable rate. It completely depends on previous knowledge, study habits, available time, etc. Take the exam when you feel you're ready. Everyone is going to be different.
  • Options
    susuandmesusuandme Member Posts: 136
    I think the MS press training book, about 1300 pages with cdrom
    is the best book to have, the Sybex book comes in second.