Options

cisco switch

rotinhell2568rotinhell2568 Member Posts: 63 ■■□□□□□□□□
i'm studying for the ccna exam and i have gotten half way through the icnd1 book and i'm starting on the chapter where they show you how to setup and configure a cisco switch. I would really like to be a cisco a switch so i can go along and do each step but in the book they show the 2960 which is way to expensive. Is there any other switch i could buy that would use the same commands. Could i use a 2950. Do i need to have 24 ports or is twelve enough?
could i use this

http://cgi.ebay.com/Cisco-2950-Series-Switch-WS-2950-12_W0QQitemZ330296878506QQcmdZViewItemQQptZCOMP_EN_Hubs?hash=item330296878506&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1205|66%3A2|65%3A12|39%3A1|240%3A1318|301%3A1|293%3A1|294%3A50

Comments

• Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    The 2950 switch is fine. 12 ports are fine. If that price doesn't get bid up, it's fine.
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • Options
    so the 24 ports arn't necessary for my level yet?
  • Options
    also is 40 bucks the max i should pay for this switch? I have no clue about the pricings?
  • Options
    tierstentiersten Member Posts: 4,505
    so the 24 ports arn't necessary for my level yet?
    All it does is let you plug more things in. It isn't important.
  • Options
    do you guys know where i can get a console cable? Also my computer doesn't have a serial port, how am i supposed to hook up the switch to my computer?
  • Options
    NetwurkNetwurk Member Posts: 1,155 ■■■■■□□□□□
    tiersten wrote: »
    All it does is let you plug more things in. It isn't important.

Not important at all, although the new guys might be thinking that you'd need more ports if you expand your lab. But if you expand your lab, you'll need another switch to do trunking, VTP, STP, etc. With each switch comes more ports. So don't worry, you'll never run out.

:)
  • Options