Virus / Malware problem

2»

Comments

• jbrown414jbrown414 Member Posts: 230
    I reimaged my machine. I'm glad I kept all my old software. Finding it all was fun as it was scattered in different rooms throughout the house. next time someone ones to use my computer I'll just tell them it's broken or my internet was turned off.
  • livenliven Member Posts: 918
    jbrown414 wrote: »
    I reimaged my machine. I'm glad I kept all my old software. Finding it all was fun as it was scattered in different rooms throughout the house. next time someone ones to use my computer I'll just tell them it's broken or my internet was turned off.

amen brother!!! Actually I let no one use my computer... EVER... Not even the wife. I bought a nice laptop to keep her happy.

And I am kind of embarrassed because I am an ex security professional... So getting a virus like this is pretty silly on my behalf. But I am not to proud to say that it is not impossible. I run multilple agents to check things on my system. I have VERY robust firewalls and physical security. But what can I say, poop happens....
    encrypt the encryption, never mind my brain hurts.
  • JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,078 Admin
    liven wrote: »
    I run multilple agents to check things on my system. I have VERY robust firewalls and physical security. But what can I say, poop happens....
    Such controls a rarely effective when the user actually invites "the poop" on to the computer. ;)
    JDMurray wrote: »
    Such controls a rarely effective when the user actually invites "the poop" on to the computer. ;)

Excellent point. Realizing that many of the folks on this website visit many forums and probably read a lot of PDFs I thought it would be wise to speak about this virus (and how it got onto my machine).