Best way to learn a new language?

GT-RobGT-Rob Member Posts: 1,090
So I was just wondering if anyone has taken on learning a new language at a later point in life (IE not a child), and what tools/methods you used?

I have seen a couple of infomercials for some products, but its hard to tell whats the best. I like the idea how some of them are very visual though.

I would really prefer to keep this self-taught, other than my GF and the odd conversations with others for practice, so any advice on that would be great.

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Are you looking at any language in particular? Podcasts are phenomenal!

I use Learn Japanese for my studies. They've branched out into a lot of other languages. I dabbled with the German and Spanish ones, but it was too much to keep up with all three...
  • skrpuneskrpune Member Posts: 1,409
    GT-Rob wrote: »
    So I was just wondering if anyone has taken on learning a new language at a later point in life (IE not a child), and what tools/methods you used?

I have seen a couple of infomercials for some products, but its hard to tell whats the best. I like the idea how some of them are very visual though.

I would really prefer to keep this self-taught, other than my GF and the odd conversations with others for practice, so any advice on that would be great.
    So do they have commercials for the "Rosetta Stone" software up in Canada too?? I keep seeing those and I wonder just how good they are, haven't tried them myself.

I did try out Pimsleur for a short time, but I got distracted and lost interest and never got back to it. (At some point, I do plan to finally learn Croatian so I can understand my parents & other relatives when they speak it...and so I can say more than just some insults, "I'm hungry," and "gimme money!" icon_lol.gif)

What language are you looking to learn?

EDIT: Podcasts? Cool, I never even thought about that...good idea!