Options

Help required choosing Security Certification

anotherdayanotherday Member Posts: 4 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi All !

I have a Bachelor of Engineering in IT.And a recent post graduate diploma in Cyber Space Security.I recently got Comp TIA Security + certified.

I really need a frank opinion in choosing my next certification.I am a fresh graduate with 3 months ( internship) of experience as IT support.And m also looking for jobs now.

My main interest is to go into Info.Security ( Risk Mgmt domain is also of interest to me ).

Can anyone please suggest me something ? icon_sad.gif

I'd be grateful.

Thank You.

Comments

• Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Be sure to read through all the stickies at the top of this forum. There is some very good information in those.

What area are you interested in working in (Microsoft, Cisco, Firewalls, etc.)?

Welcome to the forums, and congratulations on your Security+ pass.
  • Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,031 Admin
    The way you get into InfoSec is by leveraging your current experience and skills. For you that would be IT and netadmin. Concentrate on the learning security aspects of those fields and getting the related certifications (CCNA: Security, CCSP, SSCP, etc.). Emphasize the security parts of your job on your resume.

All of InfoSec is about risk management. If you specially want to work in risk management itself, the financial, insurance, or healthcare industries are what you should focus on, as they are very RM-focused.
  • Options
    the_Grinchthe_Grinch Member Posts: 4,165 ■■■■■■■■■■