Options

how to ask for raise at work?

mr dinosaurmr dinosaur Member Posts: 3 ■□□□□□□□□□
i work as a 'systems engineer' at a healthcare related company. we do IT outsourcing for small physician groups/practices. the corporate office is based out on the east coast and i was hired here in oct of 07 here in seattle. i was the first employee hired for this office, since then we have hired about 4 more people(3 other engineers and a manager). when i was at a rate of 55k. i was pretty desperate at the time as i had quit my previous position without having something lined up(stupid i know). the rate was the same rate as my last position. i was told that reviews would come in jan of 08 and that we could discuss the salary at that time. so jan 08 came and went and never got a review but found out everyoen else in the east did(i guess they forgot the west coast office). i figured no big deal ill just wait untill next year, i didnt really expect an increase anyway considering at the time i hadnt worked there very long.

our facility here is a data center hosting somewhere between 600-700 servers. each customer has thier own rack and servers, with a domain for each customer. my duties here include racking and imaging servers, setting up firewalls, switches, building domain, setting up remote access for customer, adding printers, users, setting up other things like exchange servers, ISA servers, esxi servers, sql servers, terminal servers, linux servers you name it.

reviews are coming up and fortunatly because i am in healthcare business is pretty good. id liek to get an increase of 20k. so id go from 55k to 75k. i have alot of things going for me which are:

changed backup tapes 7 days a week including holodays for 4 months(while we were hiring more employees

worked quite a few 18-19 hour shifts assisting with things like power upgrades, server down emergencies

had my scheduled changed 4 times to benefit needs of company