Options

Wireless statistics..

vColevCole Member Posts: 1,573 ■■■■■■■□□□
So, apparently we're renovating at work, but it's TOP SECRET. icon_silent.gif

But alas, since I work in IT I have to know these things.

Anyone, on to what I need to know...

I work in a factory (manufacturing military insignia)

Now, as you can imagine lots of metal/concrete/walls/etc.

They're thinking about putting wireless for all the desktop PCs in the new office(s).

I need some statistics of the range of a wireless AP, and if it would be better (and cost efficient) to stay wired.

I personally think we should stay wired, since 80% of our machines are W2K, (W2K doesn't support WPA2, right? icon_scratch.gif ), cost of wireless cards and all the issues that can come with wireless.

Anyone want to help? icon_thumright.gif

Comments

• Options
    darkerosxxdarkerosxx Banned Posts: 1,343
    Is it just one room full of computers? Are the machines inter-mingled?

I don't know about the limitations of W2K's wireless security, but that would definitely be something to check. If you can't get WPA at the least, then don't bother.
  • Options
    darkerosxx wrote: »
    Is it just one room full of computers? Are the machines inter-mingled?

I don't know about the limitations of W2K's wireless security, but that would definitely be something to check. If you can't get WPA at the least, then don't bother.

Not just one full room, we have different departments, I'm unsure of the layout.
  • Options
    tierstentiersten Member Posts: 4,505
    How many offices, how spread out are they and how many devices are going to be using the WiFi?
    I work in a factory (manufacturing military insignia)
    Factories tend to be a very noisy RF environment from all the heavy machinery. Wireless probably won't like it. You'll have to do a site survey really to check.