Options

Samba

ally_ukally_uk Member Posts: 1,145 ■■■■□□□□□□
Samba question for Samba / Linux Gurus lol

Have any of you guys had any experience of setting up Samba at home?

( The scenario)

I'm new to Linux, want to dabble with Samba and learn the basics in file sharing, I have two machines 1 Windows, 1 Ubuntu. First I want to create a folder on the Linux machine called files and share it with the Windows machine just to get a Jist of how Samba works.

Does anyone have a good example of a smb.config as to how to do this?

The second main question I am struggling with is how does the authetication process work? what I mean is say I am on the XP machine and want to View the Samba share, by default I can't view it as it asks me for credentials? are these windows credentials or credentials created in the smb.config? or Linux credentials? this is the confusing part for me.

Which part on the smb.config is access determined?

Many Thanks
Microsoft's strategy to conquer the I.T industry

" Embrace, evolve, extinguish "

Comments

• Options
    undomielundomiel Member Posts: 2,818
    Ok there are several items at play here in your smb.conf. Let's first look at the [global] section. To start off with since you're talking simple here you would want:

security = user

This starts it off with just a simple user/password scheme. This is probably what you are using already. Next off is:

guest account = nobody

Set your guest account to an account with valid permissions to what you are sharing. Now we get down to your share.

[share]
    path = /home/user/share
    guest ok = yes

Make sure you have guest ok in there. That should be the basics for getting your share available and on the network. Be sure to browse through the man pages for smb.conf and run testparm to make sure you smb.conf syntax is correct. And here's the official samba how to guide: The Official Samba 3.2.x HOWTO and Reference Guide
    Jumping on the IT blogging band wagon -- http://www.jefferyland.com/