Options

Recommended Exchange 2007 Lab Setup

dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
I need to get going on this and was just curious how I should set this up.

I'm thinking two domains with two servers in each, one for edge transport, and one for the others. I might just do a single server in one domain to see how that setup works.

Does that sound about right?

Comments

• Options
    HeroPsychoHeroPsycho Inactive Imported Users Posts: 1,940
    Yes.

I'd also publish Exchange through ISA if you can, and on one of your domains, setup Exchange 2003 and migrate it to 2007 as well.
    Good luck to all!
  • Options
    I'll obviously need another 32-bit box for 2003, but can I run ISA on one of the Exchange servers, or will I need another VM for that as well?

Also, is it pretty simple to setup 2003 for a test migration if I have no experience with that?

TIA.
  • Options
    Just do it all in VMware.

No, Exchange + ISA on one instance of Windows = bad idea.

You don't absolutely have to actually setup ISA end to end with Exchange for the purposes of the certifications, but you do need to know the concepts of why ISA is the best choice for securing Exchange access over the internet. However, I definitely would setup Exchange 2003 coexistence/migration with Exchange 2007.
    Good luck to all!
  • Options
    HeroPsycho wrote: »
    Just do it all in VMware.

*whew* good thing you said something. I was about to pick up a few servers on eBay.
    No, Exchange + ISA on one instance of Windows = bad idea.

Even for lab/testing? I can see why it would be less-than-ideal in production. Do you think I could throw it on the edge transport machine? I'm just trying to keep the number of VMs down. I wanted to do this on my laptop, but it seems like 4gb isn't going to be sufficient. Does Exchange enforce the 2GB minimum requirement, or is that just a minimum for production?