Options

Cisco Pix 506e FW and 2600 Seriers router

94jedi94jedi Member Posts: 177
Hey all, I'm a cisco newb just starting out studying for the CCNA so please forgive my noobishness. anyway, I have access to a Pix 506e and a 2600 series router. I'd like to set up a lab at my home so I can start getting some hands on experience w/ this equipment. I also have access to a Dell 2624 switch. Is this enough for a home lab? What else would I need? I'm guessing I should go ahead and get a Static IP for my comcast connection as well? I'd like to maybe even try creating some VPN tunnels to another 506 (yes, I have two lol).

any help would be much appreciated!

Thank you!
HAIL TO THE REDSKINS!!!

Comments

• Options
    cisco_troopercisco_trooper Member Posts: 1,441 ■■■■□□□□□□
    You will want to get a couple Cisco 2950s with the Enhanced Image. You can probably find these on ebay....The Dell switch won't do you much good for the Cisco test, but you can still use it for connectivity if you need to. You won't need the PIX for the CCNA, but you can use it provide yourself with a VPN connection to your lab.
  • Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Check out the CCNA FAQ

There are also a couple recent good home lab router/switch threads in the CCNA Forum within the last few weeks....

Setting up a home lab that can be accessed via the internet seems to be a popular goal for lots of people.... and it would be a learning experience (hopefully not a bad one if you don't secure it properly). VPN Access is THE WAY to do it (if you must :D).