Starting to focus in on my career.

msteinhilbermsteinhilber Member Posts: 1,480 ■■■■■■■■□□
I've finally decided to move forward and focus in on something attainable. I have plenty of experience but it's fairly diverse over a wide range of technologies. Getting into networking, VoIP, and security were the three big areas of interest. After a prospective career in VoIP fell through not long ago, I decided to focus more on networking or security as VoIP jobs in my region are rare and often require experience before getting on board.

Things have been bad at my job money wise (we're in real estate) and after no raise last year as well as an hour reduction and news today of no raises this year (no surprise) my boss who was annoyed by the decision as well decided we would compensate ourselves by training resources and certification exams on the companies dollar since he can slip those in without issue.

So today I ordered the following books:

Amazon.com: MCITP Self-Paced Training Kit (Exams 70-640, 70-642, 70-643, 70-647): Windows Server® 2008 Enterprise Administrator Core Requirements: Dan Holme, Nelson Ruest, Danielle Ruest, Tony Northrup, J.C. Mackin, Anil Desai, Orin Thomas, John Poli

Amazon.com: MCTS Self-Paced Training Kit (Exam 70-620): Configuring Windows Vista(TM) Client (Self Paced Training Kit 70-620): I. McLean, Orin Thomas: Books

Amazon.com: Windows Server 2008 Hyper-V Unleashed: Rand Morimoto, Jeff Guillet: Books

Planning on doing the MCITP: EA and 70-652 as well.