Options

Passed - 940

jayITjayIT Member Posts: 11 ■□□□□□□□□□
I took it yesterday and passed with a 940. I must say I was VERY surprised at my high score. I had 43 questions, about 5 sims, and 3 hours to take it. By the time I was finished, I had marked about 10 that I was unsure of. In my review, I did go back and make changes to a few of the marked questions, but I had to pee so bad I just decided to end the test and be done with it! I was shocked that I passed at all, let alone with a 940.

A couple of things:

I have about 4 years experience working with Server 2000 and AD, and 1 year with 2003. I have also taken a week long class for the 70-290 about 10 months ago, but I already knew much of the basic material covered. My study items included, MS Press 70-290, this website and the practice questions here, and the 10 question Trancender demo. I took the MS Press practice test about 5 times, and did pretty bad on all but the last couple. The practice questions were much harder than the actual exam questions (and much more confusing).

The exam questions were more straight forward than many other tests that I've taken. They were less complex than most of the practice stuff. Some questions had me wondering "is it really that simple?" I must admit, I probably got lucky on a few questions that I had no idea how to answer, but the answer just looked the "most logical." There were a few random questions that I'm not sure you would know even if you read the whole book. That's just the way it is though. If it looks like the right answer, choose it.

The sims were not bad. I would recommend practicing many scenarios in AD for users, groups, etc. It would definitely help to know some basic Group Policy linking. Know as much as you can about NTFS and Sharing permissions. Practice, practice, practice. I think most people already understand that these types of questions are the highlight of the exam.