am i not qualified??

bhs00bhs00 Member Posts: 70 ■■□□□□□□□□
I have been looking for a different job for a long time and I apply to every job I come across in my area that I may be a fit for. I am wanting a desktop support position, but I have also applied to helpdesk I and II positions. The only calls Ive been getting have been from a recruiting agency. I am beginning to wonder if im not even qualified for a helpdesk I job. I had a phone interview 2 days ago with a helpdesk manager and the recruiter called me back and said that feedback from the guy was that I was "not right for high volume call job with high quotas". I told him that was fine because I was not looking for a straight "call center" only job. I have a BS degree in MIS, a year experience in PC repair and troubleshooting where I am now, A+, Network+, MCP, and one exam away from having MCSA. Is that not qualified for an entry level helpdesk position???

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    Sounds like you're borderline over-qualified ;)
  • undomielundomiel Member Posts: 2,818
    I'd say get on the phone and start calling these places and see if you can get the hiring manager on the line. If you can talk good and even get yourself a face-to-face then you should be able to show you can do the job.
    Jumping on the IT blogging band wagon -- http://www.jefferyland.com/
  • bhs00bhs00 Member Posts: 70 ■■□□□□□□□□
    Am I overqualified for a desktop support position as well?
  • Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□
    Help desk work? Needs at least a PHD.

Seriously, focus on what you can change, not what you can't. And don't be afraid to read a few books and get out and practice your softskills.
    -Daniel
    I wonder what could enhance my chances or employment? Finish the MCSA and maybe get certified in Security+ or CCNA? I was planning on holding off on MCSA until I get a little work experience with it so I can grasp ideas on 70-291 exam a little better.