Options

Practical Skills and Knowlege

nezzy456nezzy456 Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 53 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi Guys,

I am about to start applying for jobs and I am a bit worried I am lacking in some areas I might not know about.

For example I have "minimal" work experience and am trying to get more but as I am currently studying for my masters and time is hard to comeby.

The real question is what should I be looking into, what are the core skills?

eg:

Experience with exchange
MS Server
Active directory

If I was to focus on 5 about things, eg:setting them up in a home lab or nagging my tutor to show me how they work what would you reccomend I do to get the most out of it?

Cheers

Comments

• Options
    UnixGuyUnixGuy Mod Posts: 4,564 Mod
    There are so many paths out there. If you want to go Microsoft path then what you mentioned is what you really need to focus on.

If you want to go the Cisco path, then you need to focus on the how to work with Cisco devices, and the CCNA will be your starting point, and so forth.

If you want to do server support, then you better work for a vendor such as SUN or IBM or HP, and there you will get exposure to the things you need

Good luck :)
    Certs: GSTRT, GPEN, GCFA, CISM, CRISC, RHCE

Learn GRC! GRC Mastery : https://grcmastery.com 

• Options
    darkerosxxdarkerosxx Banned Posts: 1,343
    Depends on what you want to do and where you want to work...explain those and you'll probably get lots of suggestions.
  • Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,028 Admin
    It sounds like you are on the Microsoft system administrator path. Is that what you want to do? Other paths are Cisco network admin/tech/engineer, security engineer (usually requires one of the previous two specialties), and even software engineer.