Options

Access Server

jbaellojbaello Member Posts: 1,191 ■■■□□□□□□□
I'm sure there's already a thread about purchasing a nice inexpensive access server, I am thinking of buying one, that will support at least 8 - 12 devices, it becomes burdensome when I have to plug into the console line on each of the device when I perform lab and accidentally mess the running config/ethernet ports...

I'm still kinda new to Cisco world, so I need some suggestions or posts about this.

Thanks!!!

Comments

• Options
    tierstentiersten Member Posts: 4,505
    2511 or a 2600/2600XM with a NM-16A or NM-32A.

2600/2600XM if you want to use SSH or you want the ability to have 32 lines with the NM-32A.
  • Options
    tierstentiersten Member Posts: 4,505
    tiersten wrote: »
    2511 or a 2600/2600XM with a NM-16A or NM-32A.

2600/2600XM if you want to use SSH or you want the ability to have 32 lines with the NM-32A.
    Both will require you to also buy the special octal cables that go from the HD50 connector to 8x RJ45 plugs.

There is also the 2511-RJ variant which just requires RJ45 rollover cables that you can crimp yourself. It only has 1 async/async serial port however instead of the 2 that the regular 2511 has.

A 2511 will run SSH if you get a specific version of IOS but it is slowwwwwwwwwwwwww.
  • Options
    phantasmphantasm Member Posts: 995
    I just did these my self. I went with the 2610, NM-16A and 1 Octal cable to start. I looked into the 2511 but I was able to build this access server for the same money and get more functionality out of it. YMMV.
    "No man ever steps in the same river twice, for it's not the same river and he's not the same man." -Heraclitus
  • Options
    Looks like I'm better off going with the slot module is this a newer technology.

But what are the pros and cons of running the access server on one the router I use for lab practice vs. getting a dedicated access server such as 2511?

Is this the cable I need?