Options

BBA or MBA and IT: How Do They Mix, Positions Obtainable, Anyone With Experience?

JoJoCal19JoJoCal19 Mod Posts: 2,835 Mod
New memeber here.

I have a A.S. in Computer Networking, am currently pursuing a string of certs including Net+, CCENT, CCNA and MCSE, and Im also working on my AA to transfer to University of Florida to finish my Bachelors in business and then get my MBA right after. Ive been working in IT since beginning of 2005 including desktop support, networking and most recently access management and active directory.

My goal is to obtain a management position in IT, preferably in project management, and work my way up to an IT director and my dream is to be a CIO.

I am wondering if people have experience with business degrees and IT, either themselves or thier supervisors/managers and how helpful they are to advancing to your IT career to management when combined with IT experience and education.
Have: CISSP, CISM, CISA, CRISC, eJPT, GCIA, GSEC, CCSP, CCSK, AWS CSAA, AWS CCP, OCI Foundations Associate, ITIL-F, MS Cyber Security - USF, BSBA - UF, MSISA - WGU
Currently Working On: Python, OSCP Prep
Next Up:​ OSCP
Studying:​ Code Academy (Python), Bash Scripting, Virtual Hacking Lab Coursework

Comments

• Options
    Mods, I just noticed I posted this in Off Topic and I should have posted in IT Jobs. Please move.
    Have: CISSP, CISM, CISA, CRISC, eJPT, GCIA, GSEC, CCSP, CCSK, AWS CSAA, AWS CCP, OCI Foundations Associate, ITIL-F, MS Cyber Security - USF, BSBA - UF, MSISA - WGU
    Studying:​ Code Academy (Python), Bash Scripting, Virtual Hacking Lab Coursework
  • Options
    eMeSeMeS Member Posts: 1,875 ■■■■■■■■■□
    This question is asked often here, you might find some additional pearls of wisdom in some prior threads.

My opinion/experience with this topic is that the specific field of study is irrelevant. What matters most is where you went to school.