Options

Is my AD broke or is it me?

pwjohnstonpwjohnston Member Posts: 441
I am a new Sys Admin at a company where all the IT support has either been fried, quit, or disappeared, and I’ve been having problems with my AD since the beginning.

Currently we have two Win2k3 SP2 servers running as DC’s. The domain functional level is Windows Server 2003. All of my test clients are Windows XP SP3.

On my Desktop I run XP SP3, I have installed both W2k3 Admintools SP2 and The GPMC SP1. This is where I have been doing my policy editing.

Current default domain policy:
Computer Config> Win Settings> Account Policies> Password Policy

Enforce password history – Not defined
Maximum password age – Not defined
Minimum password age – Not defined
Minimum Password Length – 6 Char
Complexity Requirements – not defined
Reversible Encryption – not defined

So I added a new employee to the domain the other day and told him to change his password. He could not because he received this error:

"Your password must be at least 6 characters, cannot repeat any of your previous 3 passwords and must be at least 1 days old.”

I thought this was odd, but I had other things to do so I just changed it in the ADUC (Active Directory Users and Computers).

So I was trying to enable the complexity requirement on the Default Domain Policy and I continued to get the same error.

"Your password must be at least 6 characters, cannot repeat any of your previous 3 passwords and must be at least 1 days old.”

The password I was testing was Password123! Which I would think should meet complexity requirements.

I go back change the things around, change the min and max age, the char length, I still get the same error. I refresh the policy from the MSC console, same error, I run gpupdate /force on both dc’s AND the client, same error.

I do some reading on the net which said to try change the passwords complexity requirements from *not defined* to disabled because sometimes that causes a problem.