Options

rip and Null0 being advertised with metric 16

livenliven Member Posts: 918
I am working a lab from the BSCI lab manual...


Trying to summarize some routes with RIP...

lab guide says do this:


ip route 192.168.48.0 255.255.252.0 null0
router rip
redistribute static


However the summarized route is not appearing in the other router, only on the locally configured device.


When I debug the rip protocol I see that the summarized route is being advertised with a metric of 16 so of course it will not make it into the routing table of the other router.

So I tried doing this:


router rip
version 2
redistribute static route-map stat_to_rip
passive-interface Loopback0
passive-interface Loopback48
passive-interface Loopback49
passive-interface Loopback50
passive-interface Loopback51
passive-interface Loopback70
network 172.16.0.0
network 192.168.48.0
network 192.168.49.0
network 192.168.50.0
network 192.168.51.0
network 192.168.70.0
no auto-summary
!


route-map stat_to_rip permit 10
set metric 1



but the metric is still showing up as 16 on the same device...


Does anyone see an error in my config or know of a work around?

Thanks
encrypt the encryption, never mind my brain hurts.

Comments

  • Options
    livenliven Member Posts: 918
    another interesting tidbit:


    Routing entry for 192.168.48.0/22, supernet
    Known via "static", distance 1, metric 0 (connected)
    Redistributing via rip
    Advertised by rip route-map stat_to_rip
    Routing Descriptor Blocks:
    * directly connected, via Null0
    Route metric is 0, traffic share count is 1



    and debug out put shows this:

    *Mar 1 01:56:49.099: 192.168.48.0/22 via 0.0.0.0, metric 16, tag 0


    very odd....
    encrypt the encryption, never mind my brain hurts.
  • Options
    EdTheLadEdTheLad Member Posts: 2,111 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Post the complete config of the router you are working on.
    "redistribute static route-map stat_to_rip" Do you not think this is a long winded approach?
    You could have just used "redistribute static metric 1" or
    router rip
    default-metric 1
    redistribute static

    You do understand the reason behind making the static route to null?
    Networking, sometimes i love it, mostly i hate it.Its all about the $$$$
  • Options
    livenliven Member Posts: 918
    EdTheLad wrote: »
    Post the complete config of the router you are working on.
    "redistribute static route-map stat_to_rip" Do you not think this is a long winded approach?
    You could have just used "redistribute static metric 1" or
    router rip
    default-metric 1
    redistribute static


    You do understand the reason behind making the static route to null?


    I was working on this for a while and found some other examples suggesting I try this method


    I also tried both of these methods:

    You could have just used "redistribute static metric 1" or
    router rip
    default-metric 1
    redistribute static



    Unfortunately I lost the previous config I was working on, so I need to re-lab it and I will post the new lab tomorrow (or later tonight).
    encrypt the encryption, never mind my brain hurts.
  • Options
    livenliven Member Posts: 918
    Here is the running config of the problem router....

    I have tried (shown below)


    router rip
    default-metric 1
    redistribute static

    and (not shown, nothing more than the line below, which the lab states is the correct method)

    redistribute static

    and (also not shown)

    redistribute static metric 1

    none of them are working to change the metric of the static route....



    R1#show running-config
    *Mar 1 00:27:12.247: %SYS-5-CONFIG_I: Configured from console by console
    Building configuration...

    Current configuration : 1606 bytes
    !
    version 12.4
    service timestamps debug datetime msec
    service timestamps log datetime msec
    no service password-encryption
    !
    hostname R1
    !
    boot-start-marker
    boot-end-marker
    !
    !
    no aaa new-model
    memory-size iomem 5
    !
    !
    ip cef
    no ip domain lookup
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    interface Loopback0
    ip address 172.16.1.1 255.255.255.0
    !
    interface Loopback1
    ip address 192.168.48.1 255.255.255.0
    !
    interface Loopback48
    no ip address
    !
    interface Loopback49
    ip address 192.168.49.1 255.255.255.0
    !
    interface Loopback50
    ip address 192.168.50.1 255.255.255.0
    !
    interface Loopback51
    ip address 192.168.51.1 255.255.255.0
    !
    interface Loopback70
    ip address 192.168.70.1 255.255.255.0
    !
    interface Serial0/0
    ip address 172.16.12.1 255.255.255.0
    serial restart-delay 0
    clock rate 64000
    no fair-queue
    !
    interface Serial0/1
    no ip address
    shutdown
    serial restart-delay 0
    !
    interface Serial0/2
    no ip address
    shutdown
    serial restart-delay 0
    !
    interface Serial0/3
    no ip address
    shutdown
    serial restart-delay 0
    !
    router rip
    version 2
    redistribute static
    passive-interface Loopback0
    passive-interface Loopback48
    passive-interface Loopback49
    passive-interface Loopback50
    passive-interface Loopback51
    passive-interface Loopback70
    network 172.16.0.0
    network 192.168.48.0
    network 192.168.49.0
    network 192.168.50.0
    network 192.168.51.0
    network 192.168.70.0
    default-metric 1
    no auto-summary
    !
    ip http server
    no ip http secure-server
    !
    ip route 192.168.48.0 255.255.252.0 Null0
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    control-plane
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    !
    line con 0
    exec-timeout 0 0
    line aux 0
    line vty 0 4
    !
    !
    end

    R1#
    encrypt the encryption, never mind my brain hurts.
  • Options
    EdTheLadEdTheLad Member Posts: 2,111 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Works perfectly if you ask me.

    R1
    R3

    R1#sh runn | be router rip
    router rip
    version 2
    redistribute static
    passive-interface Loopback0
    passive-interface Loopback48
    passive-interface Loopback49
    passive-interface Loopback50
    passive-interface Loopback51
    passive-interface Loopback70
    network 172.16.0.0
    network 192.168.48.0
    network 192.168.49.0
    network 192.168.50.0
    network 192.168.51.0
    network 192.168.70.0
    default-metric 1
    no auto-summary
    !
    ip forward-protocol nd
    ip route 192.168.48.0 255.255.252.0 Null0



    R3#sh ip route | be Ga
    Gateway of last resort is not set

    172.16.0.0/24 is subnetted, 2 subnets
    C 172.16.12.0 is directly connected, Serial0/0
    R 172.16.1.0 [120/1] via 172.16.12.1, 00:00:10, Serial0/0
    R 192.168.51.0/24 [120/1] via 172.16.12.1, 00:00:10, Serial0/0
    R 192.168.50.0/24 [120/1] via 172.16.12.1, 00:00:10, Serial0/0
    R 192.168.49.0/24 [120/1] via 172.16.12.1, 00:00:10, Serial0/0
    R 192.168.70.0/24 [120/1] via 172.16.12.1, 00:00:10, Serial0/0
    R 192.168.48.0/24 [120/1] via 172.16.12.1, 00:00:10, Serial0/0
    R 192.168.48.0/22 [120/1] via 172.16.12.1, 00:00:10, Serial0/0
    R3#


    R1#config t
    Enter configuration commands, one per line. End with CNTL/Z.
    R1(config)#router rip
    R1(config-router)#no network 192.168.48.0
    R1(config-router)#no network 192.168.49.0
    R1(config-router)#no network 192.168.50.0
    R1(config-router)#no network 192.168.51.0
    R1(config-router)#


    R3#sh ip route | be Ga
    Gateway of last resort is not set

    172.16.0.0/24 is subnetted, 2 subnets
    C 172.16.12.0 is directly connected, Serial0/0
    R 172.16.1.0 [120/1] via 172.16.12.1, 00:00:10, Serial0/0
    R 192.168.70.0/24 [120/1] via 172.16.12.1, 00:00:10, Serial0/0
    R 192.168.48.0/22 [120/1] via 172.16.12.1, 00:00:10, Serial0/0
    R3#
    Networking, sometimes i love it, mostly i hate it.Its all about the $$$$
  • Options
    livenliven Member Posts: 918
    EdTheLad wrote: »
    Works perfectly if you ask me.

    R1
    R3

    R1#sh runn | be router rip
    router rip
    version 2
    redistribute static
    passive-interface Loopback0
    passive-interface Loopback48
    passive-interface Loopback49
    passive-interface Loopback50
    passive-interface Loopback51
    passive-interface Loopback70
    network 172.16.0.0
    network 192.168.48.0
    network 192.168.49.0
    network 192.168.50.0
    network 192.168.51.0
    network 192.168.70.0
    default-metric 1
    no auto-summary
    !
    ip forward-protocol nd
    ip route 192.168.48.0 255.255.252.0 Null0



    R3#sh ip route | be Ga
    Gateway of last resort is not set

    172.16.0.0/24 is subnetted, 2 subnets
    C 172.16.12.0 is directly connected, Serial0/0
    R 172.16.1.0 [120/1] via 172.16.12.1, 00:00:10, Serial0/0
    R 192.168.51.0/24 [120/1] via 172.16.12.1, 00:00:10, Serial0/0
    R 192.168.50.0/24 [120/1] via 172.16.12.1, 00:00:10, Serial0/0
    R 192.168.49.0/24 [120/1] via 172.16.12.1, 00:00:10, Serial0/0
    R 192.168.70.0/24 [120/1] via 172.16.12.1, 00:00:10, Serial0/0
    R 192.168.48.0/24 [120/1] via 172.16.12.1, 00:00:10, Serial0/0
    R 192.168.48.0/22 [120/1] via 172.16.12.1, 00:00:10, Serial0/0
    R3#


    R1#config t
    Enter configuration commands, one per line. End with CNTL/Z.
    R1(config)#router rip
    R1(config-router)#no network 192.168.48.0
    R1(config-router)#no network 192.168.49.0
    R1(config-router)#no network 192.168.50.0
    R1(config-router)#no network 192.168.51.0
    R1(config-router)#


    R3#sh ip route | be Ga
    Gateway of last resort is not set

    172.16.0.0/24 is subnetted, 2 subnets
    C 172.16.12.0 is directly connected, Serial0/0
    R 172.16.1.0 [120/1] via 172.16.12.1, 00:00:10, Serial0/0
    R 192.168.70.0/24 [120/1] via 172.16.12.1, 00:00:10, Serial0/0
    R 192.168.48.0/22 [120/1] via 172.16.12.1, 00:00:10, Serial0/0
    R3#



    Man do you ever sleep?



    Do you see anything wrong with my configuration?

    I see a few lines that you have that I don't, but I am not certain they are needed to make this work. I will try one more time and see if I can get this to work. The only thing I can think of is that I am using GNS3/dynamips... Perhaps I would be better off if I setup some real routers for this one.
    encrypt the encryption, never mind my brain hurts.
  • Options
    EdTheLadEdTheLad Member Posts: 2,111 ■■■■□□□□□□
    I've got a touch of insomnia icon_smile.gif ,but going to bed in 1 hr.I pasted your config in complete, any additionals are ios defaults.I used dynamips too.
    Networking, sometimes i love it, mostly i hate it.Its all about the $$$$
  • Options
    livenliven Member Posts: 918
    EdTheLad wrote: »
    I've got a touch of insomnia icon_smile.gif ,but going to bed in 1 hr.I pasted your config in complete, any additionals are ios defaults.I used dynamips too.


    Well, I just rebuilt my entire config with 7200 ios instead of 3640... And

    BINGO!!!!


    So it is a bug with the 3640 ios or a bug with that IOS and dynamips.... Go figure....
    encrypt the encryption, never mind my brain hurts.
Sign In or Register to comment.