Options

Is my Study Material Way Out Of Date?

CiscoNewbCiscoNewb Member Posts: 15 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi all,

I am currently studying for the CCNA. I began the process 2 years ago by buying the books and did little else but have now decided I want to do it seriously.
My only concern now is that I am studying off the CCNA 1 and 2 and CCNA 3 and 4 Cisco Press Networking Academy Program Revised Third Editions.
How out of date are these and am I going to have to buy new material?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    phantasmphantasm Member Posts: 995
    I have the CCNA 1 & 2 Third edition and I found it to be mostly useless. Some of the info is still good, but the new exam tests on material not covered in those books. Some of the new material is Security, Wireless, IPv6 and the SDM I believe.

Here is the exam blueprint for the new 640-802 exam: https://cisco.hosted.jivesoftware.com/community/certifications/ccna/ccna_exam?view=overview
    "No man ever steps in the same river twice, for it's not the same river and he's not the same man." -Heraclitus
  • Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    About 25% of the CCNA material changed. You may as well get the Odom Cisco Press CCNA Certification Library -- since you need it to cover the new material.
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • Options
    mikej412 wrote: »
    About 25% of the CCNA material changed. You may as well get the Odom Cisco Press CCNA Certification Library -- since you need it to cover the new material.

I will get the odom library. I am half way through the current books that I have. Is it a good idea to complete those books and then complete the odom ones to refresh what I have done already and to also cover the new material?

Thanks,

Ian.
  • Options
    phantasmphantasm Member Posts: 995
    CiscoNewb wrote: »