Options

Confusion about Backups

veritas_libertasveritas_libertas Member Posts: 5,746 ■■■■■■■■■■
I am studying for to take the Network+ near the end of June or early July. I am confused about Backups. My professor has tried explain to us about backups and the archive bit, but I still don't understand this. What is this bit? I am also confused about what a Differential backup is. I understand what a full and incremental backup are. icon_sad.gif

Comments

• Options
    PlantwizPlantwiz Mod Posts: 5,057 Mod
    Plantwiz
    _____
    "Grammar and spelling aren't everything, but this is a forum, not a chat room. You have plenty of time to spell out the word "you", and look just a little bit smarter." by Phaideaux

***I'll add you can Capitalize the word 'I' to show a little respect for yourself too.

'i' before 'e' except after 'c'.... weird?
  • Options
    I looked at the hyperlinks you sent but I still don't understand the difference between differential and incremental backups. They look like the same thing.
  • Options
    sprkymrksprkymrk Member Posts: 4,884 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Full= backup everything every time.

Differential = backup everything that has changed since the last full backup.

Incremental = backup only what has changed since the last backup of any type.

So if you do a full backup on Monday, then on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday do a differential, here is what your backup would look like:

Monday= everything.
    Tuesday= only Tuesday's stuff.
    Wednesday = Tuesday and Wednesday's stuff.
    Thursday= Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday's stuff.

Thus to do a restore on any particular day you only need the full backup from Monday and the last differential backup. That's 2 tapes let's say. So on Friday you need Monday and Thursday tapes to do a restore.

However, if you do a full backup on Monday, followed by an incremental backup on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday, here is how your backups would look:

Monday = everything.