Permissions trouble

Squirrel23Squirrel23 Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
hi guys - I cant seem to get any of the permisisons questions right! I don't want to be guessing in the exam. Is there anywhere that will explain it clearly? As I'm doing the 290 soon I would like to be confident with the simulations. I have no experience on server at all, so I've never had to deal with accounts!

Comments

• Punt1971Punt1971 Member Posts: 12 ■□□□□□□□□□
  • Squirrel23Squirrel23 Member Posts: 19 ■□□□□□□□□□
    Cheers for that - I'm really not sure how I missed it.....!! It's explained better than the MS books too.
  • Big JizayBig Jizay Member Posts: 269
    Squirrel23 wrote: »
    It's explained better than the MS books too.

I say that all too often. Definitely don't rely on the MS press book alone. Also, ready other books or study guides (legit ones icon_lol.gif) in addition to the MS Press book.
    The only thing that can stop you is you

Currently studying for 70-293
  • gravyjoegravyjoe Member Posts: 260
    There's three parts of the equation.

1st part - Figuring out the NTFS permissions. These permissions are cumulative. Take this example:

Joe - Read permission
    Marketing (which Joe is a part of) - Modify permission
    Accounting (which Joe is a part of) - Full control

Since Joe is in the marketing and accounting groups as well... his NTFS permissions for this file is Read + Modify + Full Control. Since Full Control already includes Read and Modify permissions, then his NTFS permission is Full Control.

2nd part - Figuring out the share permissions. These permissions are also cumulative. If Joe has Read permissions and the Marketing department has Change, then Joe has Read + Change share permissions. Since Change already includes the Read permission, then Joe's share permission is Change.