Options

New Job. (long and mostly boring post)

imfrom51imfrom51 Member Posts: 97 ■■■□□□□□□□
Ohhhh. It's been a Long time since I have posted here. Anyway, I will be starting a new job in 2 weeks. Yeah!!!. A lot has happened, and I have gone through a lot to get to the job that I am really looking forward to.

My current job is Incredibly dull and unchallenging. It's basically a glorified help desk (sorry to the helpdesk people) but before this I was a Systems Admin / Network Admin guy. I had to change jobs as, at the time, my coworker was promoted. I didn't have a problem with this. The problem I had was the way it was done.

One day I was called into the office, and told that my coworker was promoted and going to be in charge of me. Having a great relationship with my manager, I asked why he got the promotion and why it was not open for all to apply for. She explained that he had been there longer, and had a degree. I responded with “a degree in Chemistry, 20 years ago” and that I had more experience than him. She then said that it was really due to the fact of the length of service. I thought OK. I then asked how long would it be before another promotion would come up. She said not for a least 2 years!!.

So, I have a great job, no chance for promotion, and decided to stay.

Then, the first day came. My coworker (newly promoted) called us into the office and proceeded on 30 min sermon on the type of manager he was going to be. (eyes a rolling). Things really changed from that day onward. Everything, and I don’t exaggerate here, every small detail had to go through him. Well, to be honest, I really bucked at this and continued as I was before, much to his chagrin. My ‘proper’ boss told us that we had to work it out, to which I thought, great. But he took that to mean, that I had to do what I was told, to the letter, with no disagreements.