Options

Just passed 003! Now what?

OoteROoteR Member Posts: 65 ■■□□□□□□□□
I just got home from the test, I apparently was nervous for no good reason. It's a good thing overstudying doesnt hurt! I got an 820 and I didn't take very long at all.

I've got about 3 years of experience, and am a director of technology at a small school district. I also have a Bachelor's in Computer Science from a small state school.

I used the ExamCram book, and the technotes from this site. The technotes probably netted me atleast 3 answers I would have missed, and I only reviewed it last night for the first time. If I had looked it over for a week it would likely have been more like 7. Great job to the author!

Thanks to all who put work into the notes, and the practice exams on this site, I've lurked quite a bit until finally making myself take the test. I bought a short expiry voucher so I'd have to take it or lose my $. That is an easy motivator.

Now what?

Here are my options:

-=-=-=-=A+-=-=-=-=-
This seems like a step backwards, but HR departments are not smart it seems, and this is one cert that they MAY know. Could help open doors later..
Pro:
Another cert, maybe a good way to get resume some attention
Con:
Seems like a step back, not to insult those who have earned one, but from the network+ it seems to be a more entry-level exam. (not that the network+ is exactly a CCIE or anything)
Cost: Does it really cost $300 for the tests? It used to be a one test cert, now you have to take at least 2!? Argh.

-=-=-=CCNA-=-=-=-=-=-=
I have a Cisco CCNA book handy, but no equipment to test it on.
Pro:
have the book, networking on the mind. Seems like a decent way to go career wise. Appears to be quite a bit of demand for it.
Con:
equipment (going to cost me a couple hundred to get going on it), wont be using it for work. I primarily am using HP switches/routers for the cost savings.

-=-=-=-=-MCSA/MCSE: -=-=-=-=-=-