Options

MCSE or CCNA next?

Hey guys, I'd like some advice. I just got my MCSA and am now (struggling) to find work. I have zero corporate experience so I'm not expecting it to be easy. I'm just wondering if it would benefit me more to go for CCNA or MCSE next. I know the MCSE is valued highly, but I see a lot of positions asking for CCNA, MS certs (MCSA, MCSE) and Exchange (along with other stuff).

So what do you guys think?
You are the systems administrator for a large enterprise that has decided to place computers in the lobby for access to public company information. On Tuesday morning Rooslan storms into your office screaming, "what the hell is this? In the last question I was the systems administrator. Now I am only a "Backup Operator"? This **** is crazy!"

Comments

• Options
    NetwurkNetwurk Member Posts: 1,155 ■■■■■□□□□□
    As I've said before

OSes come and go, but networks never die

CCNA!

:)
  • Options
    dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    The MCSA doesn't have much recognition. I'd finish the MCSE since you're that far, and then you can branch out into Cisco, some/more Exchange studies, etc.
  • Options
    bar182bar182 Member Posts: 44 ■■□□□□□□□□
    dynamik wrote: »
    The MCSA doesn't have much recognition. I'd finish the MCSE since you're that far, and then you can branch out into Cisco, some/more Exchange studies, etc.

I disagree. He has basically no experience, MCSE would be overkill. CCNA for mine.
    MCP | MCTS:Vista| CCA:XenApp5|
    WIP > 70-291 for MCSA
  • Options
    Big JizayBig Jizay Member Posts: 269
    I don't know which would be best for a beginner, but I do know that MCSE is asked for much more than MCSA or CCNA in job postings. The gap between MCSE and MCSA is big as far as demand.
    The only thing that can stop you is you

Currently studying for 70-293
  • Options
    qwertyiopqwertyiop Member Posts: 725 ■■■□□□□□□□