Options

Newbie Help

joey74055joey74055 Member Posts: 216
Hi all, please bare with me as I am just starting out. I am trying to ping one switch hanging off one interface on the router to another switch hanging off the other interface of the router. Ping does not respond back from one switch to the other. Here is my setup:

Router(3640) int fa0/0 = 10.5.5.155 255.255.255.0
Router(3640) int fa0/1 = 172.16.10.3 255.255.255.0

Switch A = 10.5.5.15 255.255.255.0
Switch B = 172.16.10.5 255.255.255.0

Static route = 10.5.5.0 255.255.255.0 172.16.10.5
Static route = 172.16.10.0 255.255.255.0 10.5.5.15

What am I doing wrong?

Comments

• Options
    mikej412mikej412 Member Posts: 10,086 ■■■■■■■■■■
    Did you define a default gateway on the switches so that they have someplace to send the traffic that is leaving the local network? And it has to be on both switches so that you can send icmp requests and receive the icmp replies back.

If you did a show ip route before you added the static routes, you probably would have already seen that the router knew about the two connected networks. And you could/should first check your connectivity from the router to each individual switches administrative interface.

And exactly where did you put those static routes?
    :mike: Cisco Certifications -- Collect the Entire Set!
  • Options
    surfthegeckosurfthegecko Member Posts: 149
    must admit my money was on the ip default-gateway
  • Options
    luke_bibbyluke_bibby Member Posts: 162
    In your static route config, why are you pointing the next hop to the switch IP addresses?

Have you got the ip default-gateway command on so configured on the switches?

Can u ping the local router from one of the switches? Can u ping a router from the other router?
  • Options
    mikej412 wrote: »