Delurk and life story

PaperclipPaperclip Member Posts: 59 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

I'm a noob to the forum but not to taking Microsoft exams. Or actually, I guess I'm kind of a re-noob as it has been so long.

Here's the history. I certified as MCSE on the NT 4.0 products in 2000. Then I also took 70-028 [FONT=Verdana, Arial, Helvetica]Administering Microsoft SQL Server 7.0 in 2001 for no particular reason that I recall, except that I wanted to know the material anyway. I may have been considering going for MCDBA and never finished it, I honestly can't remember.

Also in 2001, I completed 70-240, thus upgrading to MCSE on the 2000 products.

Which brings us to now. If I didn't miss the failboat, I should have taken the two 2003 upgrade exams over a year ago before they were retired, but alas I did not. I will now have to do at least five tests or something, I think.

My thinking at the time was "Duh, 2003 server is the same as 2000 server anyway." Which I still kind of think, but what has changed is that I now find myself with access to the CBT Nuggets and think it would be ridiculous not to take advantage of them to the fullest extent possible.

So I'm currently studying 70-290, and I've scheduled it for May 7. After that, I was kind of planning on doing all the core exams in order. The client requirement is I believe still covered by the 70-240, since it covered Windows 2000 Workstation. I'm not completely for sure on this though. The Microsoft certification site is a bit of a tangled web. I know I'm doing 298 rather than 297, since "Server in the Enterprise" or whatever they used to call it was my most hated exam. I had thirty users, I don't know or need to know anything about having thousands of domain trusts. I think that was the one I passed with exactly 700.

For the elective, I will probably do 70-431, since now I have gotten more interested in the database admin path again. And hey from there it's only two more tests to MCITP: Database Administrator.