Options

Application Security

BroodmdhBroodmdh Member Posts: 10 ■□□□□□□□□□
I have been working as a developer for almost 5 years now, and I want to move into security related work. Specifically, I would like to focus on application security (code reviews, pen testing, iis & db hardening etc), but I don't know where to begin.

I am considering getting a cert as a signal of serious intent, but I haven't found much information on application-security-specific certs (aside from GIAC, which are prohibitively expensive). As a result, I have been considering getting my SSCP, but I don't know if it will be very applicable. My employer most likely won't pay for the certs, so I will have to foot the bill myself and be very careful with my selections. Any advice that you can offer would be appreciated.

Comments

• Options
    JDMurrayJDMurray Admin Posts: 13,028 Admin
    You sound a lot like me five years ago. I am a software engineer and wanted then to fully move my career into the arena of InfoSec and specialize in application security. I started by getting a Masters degree in InfoSec, joined relevant professional InfoSec organizations, hung around on InfoSec-related Web forums, went to security conferences, obtained several well-regarded security certifications, and was finally hired to a software engineering position with the word "security" in the title. It was a long time and a lot of hard work in coming, but my strategy did pay off.

And I had to pay for it all myself too. Invest in yourself; no dollar you spend on advancing your career, or personal development, ever is wasted.
  • Options
    Thanks for replying, JDMurray.