Options

backplane question

marcusaureliusbrutusmarcusaureliusbrutus Member Posts: 73 ■■□□□□□□□□
Hi. Can anyone please explain the actual, practical use of a backplane? Am i right to say that a backplane is the forwarding bus of a router/switch?
Is the backplane capacity important to consider in typical networks, if yes, then why? Is there a reference available, some sort of guide as to what backplane capacity to use for certain lan designs(a 24 switch connected to 24 workstations, is there a minimum backplane requirement?

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• Options
    kryollakryolla Member Posts: 785
    Im not a hardware engineer so excuse me if I dont sound too intelligent. My understanding is the backplane is how the cards in slots talk to the sup and to each other i.e in a 6509 you have 9 slots which consist of the supervisor which is the brain/controller of the chassis and you have 7 other slots for input/output devices like ethernet blade. The way these slots talk to each other and to the supervisor card is via the backplane. The backplane also has capacity limits which should be taken into account if you have the box maxed out. The bus is how the different processor within the card talk to other peripherals like memory modules, etc but within the card itself. I have to go over the IOS architecture book again. But that is the laymans version of what a backplane is.
    Studying for CCIE and drinking Home Brew
  • Options
    Hi kryolla,

Thanks for the prompt reply. How would i know whether the backplane capacity is enough for a certain type of network or whether i need a switch with a greater backplane?

Thanks in advance.
  • Options
    kryollakryolla Member Posts: 785