Tools Every Computer Tech needs!

homerj742homerj742 Member Posts: 251
I'm a systems/database admin at my job, but was thinking of doing some computer repair on the side for some extra $$$.

As always, you gotta have the right tools for the job. So I thought it would be fun (with the help of TE forums) to compile a list of what we think are essential tools:

-Assortment of screw drivers (different sizes/types)
-Small clamps to pick up those screws that escape underneath the mobo
-network cables
-external hard drive

I know there's a ton more hardware and software related stuff.

Comments

• JaggedJagged Member Posts: 67 ■■□□□□□□□□
    For Windows, a USB stick with all the Sysinternals tools.

I also have the nirsoft.net tools PSTPassword, ProduKey, Mail Passview. Looking at the site I need to grab a few more programs.
    Microsoft: MCSE 4, MCSE 2003 +Security, MSCA 2003 Messaging, MCITP:SA -- Cisco: CCNA
    Novell: CNE 3-6, CLA, CLP, CLE -- Nortel: NCDS, NCSS -- CompTIA: Project+, Server+, Linux+, Security+

Courses Completed at WGU:
    EWB2, BBC1, LAE1, WFV1, SSC1, CLC1, WDV1, MGC1, ORC1, INC1, IWC1
    Courses Required BS - IT: NETW:
    LAT1, LUT1, INT1, SST1, LET1, IWT1, BOV1, TWA1, CPW2
    Classes Transferred:
    BAC1, TEV1, TTV1, QLC1, QMC1, QLT1, TSV1, TPV1, TNV1, BRV1, ABV1, AHV1, AIV1, AJV1
  • homerj742homerj742 Member Posts: 251
    Nice.

What about spyware, or anti-virus programs?
  • ally_ukally_uk Member Posts: 1,145 ■■■■□□□□□□
    Decent thermal Paste
    Crimper
    Punchdown tool
    Cable tester
    PSU Tester
    Cable Ties for tidying up cables and internals of Case.
    Ulitmate Boot CD ( Formatting tools, P/W reset tools, Benchmarking / Burn in tools
    Linux Live CD ( The swish army knife has saved my ass on many occasions lol
    Wire Cutters
    Aida32 or SIW ( for identifying drivers)
    MPX Network Card ( plug play requires no drivers in XP)
    External Hard disk for data transfer purpose.
    MemTest - for testing ram