Options

Serious Career HELP Needed !!!

#snoop#snoop Banned Posts: 22 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hey guys,

I desperately need some genuine advice from someone who is experienced in the IT industry and can clearly state/guide me in the right direction.

About me: I graduated in computer science in 2003 and then accidentally got into teaching and discovered that I was good with it. Gained 2 years of experience and then started my own academy. Did pretty decent with that too. Finally after running it for over an year I sold it and then moved to United States in 2007.

I am running my financial service business and doing well. Now, I think I have realized that I have that inclination towards computers/networks etc. So I want to seriously start my career in IT industry, preferably security. That's what fascinates me the most. Also now that I realize networking was the subject which I enjoyed studying the most while commencing the bachelors degree. So it would be wise to something in security.

Recently I have researched a lot about certifications. I feel I should start with Network+ follow it up with CEH and eventually CHFI. Recently I also took some training in Linux and Solaris administration. I believe it will help me during the CEH training.

I want to get into the security industry and need expert guidance on how to proceed and build up a strong career path. I strongly believe that, no degree or certification is as valuable as hands-on experience, so is there anyway I can get a entry-level job in the security industry? Can network+ land me into an entry-level job?

I am reading cram session CompTIA Network+ notes to have an idea and have ordered CompTIA Network+ Deluxe Study Guide: (Exam N10-004) for a detailed study.

I am willing to shed a few thousand $$$ in order to achieve my goal. icon_study.gif

Just need the right direction and some info as to where it would lead.

Thanks!
#snoop
Wednesday, May 13, 2009 04:35PM

Comments

• Options