Options

Problem with internal DNS resolving internet names

Alif_Sadida_EkinAlif_Sadida_Ekin Member Posts: 341 ■■■■□□□□□□
Ok, so I'm trying to complete the practice lab in the MSPressbook page 6-13. When I attempt to perform an nslookup on MSN.com I get the following returned:

*** Can't find server name for address 192.168.1.100: Non-existent domain
Server: UnKnown
Address: 192.168.1.100 (This is the address I statically assigned to my server)

Non-authoritative answer:
Name: us.port.msn.com.nsatc.net
Address: 207.68.173.76
Aliases: MSN.com

Now, since I'm still learning all of this, I could be completely wrong in saying that there is a problem with recursion. For all I know, it could be something entirely different. Here's the troubleshooting I've done already:

Obviously, I'm still able to resolve MSN.com because I configured my server's NIC properties to use my internal DNS server of 192.168.1.100 and two of my ISPs DNS servers. Based on the information returned in nslookup, it's safe to say that my DNS server did not do any of the resolution right? Just to be sure, I went back and deleted my ISP's DNS servers from my NIC's properties and, as expected, I wasn't able to resolve any internet names. Unable to browse the web or ping by web address. Nothing.

I looked at the properties of my DNS server and I see that recursion has not been disabled. I made sure that my server was not a root server by checking for a zone labled "." (nothing like that in my forward lookup zones), and I ran the test under the Monitoring tab in my DNS server's properties. Simple Query and Recursive Query tests came back as "pass".

All the root hints servers are there. I've never touched these so it's assumed to be ok.

What am I doing wrong? I want my internal DNS server to resolve internet names. I'm still learning all this, so my apologies if this is a really stupid question. Maybe I'm just not understanding any of this...

Thanks for your guys' help in advance!