Options

Which cert should be my first?

looi76looi76 Member Posts: 5 ■□□□□□□□□□
Hi Everyone, I'm new to this forum. Right now, I'm doing my Bachelors Degree in Computer Science. After reading about IT Certificates and their benefits, I want to achieve one but don't know where to start. I want to start with an easy one and I want to self study for the certificate. any suggestions?

Comments

• Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Depends on what you want to do really, but the A+ is a good generic place to start if you don't know what you want to do with your career.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • Options
    Big JizayBig Jizay Member Posts: 269
    Depends on what you want to do really, but the A+ is a good generic place to start if you don't know what you want to do with your career.

+1

The A+ creates a great foundation.
    The only thing that can stop you is you

Currently studying for 70-293
  • Options
    Paul BozPaul Boz Member Posts: 2,620 ■■■■■■■■□□
    Don't waste your time just obtaining random certifications. Identify what you want out of a certification and go from there. What do you want to do once you have your degree? What type of job do you want? What are your interests? Do you like server administration? do you like networking? These things will dictate what you study.

Also, I would not work on the A+ if you are studying for a BA in computer science. That cert will do NOTHING for you professionally. If you are a CS major and can't handle A+ material you're in the wrong field. Take your degree, identify a specialization that you can obtain certs in, and rock and roll.
    CCNP | CCIP | CCDP | CCNA, CCDA
    CCNA Security | GSEC |GCFW | GCIH | GCIA
    pbosworth@gmail.com
    http://twitter.com/paul_bosworth
    Blog: http://www.infosiege.net/
  • Options
    networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    Paul Boz wrote: »