Per VLAN STP

jscimeca715jscimeca715 Member Posts: 280
Hey guys, I'm studying STP now and seem to have a pretty solid understanding of it. I do have a few questions.

1. How much is PVSTP used in real-life scenarios? It seems like it's a benefit, but it also appears to require a lot of configuration time.

2. Any tips on how to stay focused on troubleshooting these problems? I haven't started hammering away at testing yet so I might need to just wait...but I was curious if you guys have any tips.

Thanks in advance.

Comments

• networker050184networker050184 Mod Posts: 11,962 Mod
    1. PVST is used extensively in the real world. I believe its the default on all modern switches.

2. Learn your show commands very well.
    An expert is a man who has made all the mistakes which can be made.
  • nelnel Member Posts: 2,859 ■□□□□□□□□□
    1. PVST is used extensively in the real world. I believe its the default on all modern switches.

2. Learn your show commands very well.

+1

Just learn the concepts well and understand how stp operates. it will help you make good sense of all the show commands and whats going on in the network.
    Xbox Live: Bring It On

Bsc (hons) Network Computing - 1st Class
    WIP: Msc advanced networking
  • rakemrakem Member Posts: 800
    Hey guys, I'm studying STP now and seem to have a pretty solid understanding of it. I do have a few questions.

1. How much is PVSTP used in real-life scenarios? It seems like it's a benefit, but it also appears to require a lot of configuration time.

Yep its the default setting on all modern switches...... Most pepole will change it to Rapid - PVSTP if it is supported.... rapid spanning-tree rocks
    CCIE# 38186
    showroute.net
  • mrblackmamba343mrblackmamba343 Inactive Imported Users Posts: 136
    PVST stands for per vlan spanning tree

A root bridge is elected for every vlan on a switch. There is a spanning -tree instance for every vlan.