Options

BGP topics in BSCI...?

hhasundhhasund Member Posts: 32 ■■■□□□□□□□
Hi,

I am studying for BSCI, and I am using Cisco's Official Exam Certification Guide, fourth edition. In addition to this book, I have the video course from Trainsignal. this has been going well up until I recently started on BGP. The book covers a lot less than the Trainsignal videos. I mean A LOT less. The book doesn't say anything about route reflectors, confederations or communities, it hardly mentions filtering and it only covers some of the attributes by showing them in a list and telling you to remember them...

My question is - how deeply does the 642-901 cover BGP?
From the official Cisco book I get the impression that it is not covered deeply at all, while Trainsignal spends over four hours of video on BGP.

Please help...

Comments

• Options
    miller811miller811 Member Posts: 897
    From my experience, the official exam guide was designed for someone with prior knowledge of the material, who just needed a refresher to sit for the exam. The official study guide will go into more detail from the ground up. The Lab guide is also needed for this exam in my opinion.

This was the first professional level exam I took and while in the testing center I quickly realized, that is why they are called PROFESSIONAL level exams.
    I don't claim to be an expert, but I sure would like to become one someday.

Quest for 11K pages read in 2011
    Page Count total to date - 1283
  • Options
    hhasundhhasund Member Posts: 32 ■■■□□□□□□□
    Thanks, miller811.

I guess I have to get the study guide, too. Lots of things to remember on the BSCI, that's for sure.

-hh
  • Options
    BADfish10BADfish10 Member Posts: 88 ■■□□□□□□□□
    With miller 100%
    The Lab guide is a key book as hands on is important in the BCSI.