MCSE 2k3 or MCTIP or both

rsuttonrsutton Member Posts: 1,029 ■■■■■□□□□□
Hello,

Newbie here to certs and looking for opinions and advice. My company just bought me a subscription to the Careersaver Microsoft cert training kits. This subsciption gives me the books, software and test exams to study for most any MS certification. I am a bit torn about whether I should jump straight in to the MCTIP information, or if I should aim for the MCSE first, or both, maybe MCSE then upgrade.

The infrastructure I currently manage is all Win2k/2k3 so the MCSE might be easier. However the MCTIP would give me valuable knowledge and prepare me when we decide to upgrade to 2008. My objective in getting certified is to gain knowledge, test my knowledge level and add another level of marketability to my resume, in that order.

Given the same scenario what would you guys and gals do?

Comments

• dynamikdynamik Banned Posts: 12,312 ■■■■■■■■■□
    If you think you could get through the MCSE quickly based on your experience, that might be a good starting point. The knowledge would also directly benefit you. You could always find some middle ground and do the MCSA and then upgrade.
  • N1NN1N Member Posts: 9 ■□□□□□□□□□
    I'm a newbie too.. if I don't have MCSE/MCSA. Should I taking MCSE/MCSA first or just jump to MCTIP? please give me some advice. Thanks!
    N1N wrote: »
    I'm a newbie too.. if I don't have MCSE/MCSA. Should I taking MCSE/MCSA first or just jump to MCTIP? please give me some advice. Thanks!

What's your background and current job responsibilities? If you're not deeply involved with 2003 and it's going to take you over a year to complete a track, you might want to start with the 2008 exams. 2003 isn't a bad place to start either. While a handful of things replace what was currently there, nearly everything builds on what was already there. It's not like the knowledge will be useless.
  • Daniel333Daniel333 Member Posts: 2,077 ■■■■■■□□□□